The Race is On

I am once again up ending my life. Why? Because I can, more or less.

insane.gif

I’m making plans for another big move. Not quite as big as last years’ move, but still fairly amazing.

And while moving last year did involve abandoning my blog for a month, I kept up with my publishing schedule.

fuking awesome.gif

Now, however, I am writing, not publish, but to create. There is no set release date, no expectations of editing, it’s just me and the words, until I get them right. Which is liberating, but also harder.

here we go (crazy).gif

It’s easy to be motivated when you can plan and schedule releases. Now, it’s write what I feel, when I feel it. And I have slowed down… a lot. I used to bang out a miniumum of 2000 words a day.  I can still do that on the good days, but mostly I’m closer to 100 or 200, when I write at all. (Full disclosure: I am also editing a book, not drafting, but still…)

I have this irrational fear in the back of my mind that I might stop working on Red Witch and never pick it up again.

Which is really stupid considering I picked it back up after nearly a three-year break. But if feelings were rational we wouldn’t have needed to create the word irrational, amiright?

feelings.gif

However, the upending of my life is going to happen, and happen soon. What to do with this existential dread? Keep it tucked away, and use it in my book, once I get settled again.

its because we have no other choice

***

author photo cropped
Kate Whitaker writes for fun and profit from the woods of the Olympic Peninsula, for now. You can most likely find her sitting at her kitchen table yelling at kids as she tries to figure out a new way to kill made up monsters. She has a newsletter and a comic, and you can follow her on twitter.

Leave a Reply

