Happy NaNoWriMo!

For those not in the know, it’s National Novel Writing Month.

One month, 30 days, 50,ooo words… GO!

I really love NaNoWriMo. I’ve written several first drafts doing this, and actually won half the time I’ve done a WriMo. This year, I’m playing a bit of a NaNo Rebel.

I’ve not writing a novel, as much as a series of short stories for my newsletter.

presentation1

Because shame is for people without student loans!

Which kind of helps me feel more accomplished. Every day, I’ve writing one story, minimum, usually one and a half. So every single day I get that little thrill of not only hitting word goal, but also of finishing something. Not to mention, I’ll end up with about three years worth of material.

And it’s the little things that make live worth living.

tumblr_n26t2zwbda1sqgfh9o1_400

So little, so worth it…

I recommend NaNo for anyone looking to get into the habit of writing, for experienced authors who need a swift kick in the butt to get that draft written, and for people who just love a challenge.

Are there downsides to NaNo?

Does a bear poo in the woods?

8766890-0

Charmin has told us that the answer to that question is YES.

Your draft will be messy and need extensive editing, but… for me, that’s any first draft. NaNo is basically how I normally write, but on a caffeine high. I bang out words until it’s done, then I refine. It’s just that once a year, a whole ton of people cheer me on.

And it feels good to know just how many people to see words on paper.

So yes, if you aren’t doing NaNo, I encourage you to give it a shot next year.

If you are doing NaNo, wanna do some word sprints?

***

author photo cropped
Kate Whitaker writes for fun and profit from the woods of the Olympic Peninsula. You can most likely find her sitting at her kitchen table yelling at kids as she tries to figure out a new way to kill made up monsters. She has a newsletter and a comic, and you can follow her on twitter.

One thought on “Happy NaNoWriMo!

  1. Pingback: Navigating NaNoWriMo for Noobs | Happy Authors Guild

Leave a Reply

