Praise for Young Adult and New Adult Authors by D. L. Hungerford

Some authors write to fill their lives with the missing bits of happiness others seem to have gotten. I never went to my prom, I only went to one dance, and I had so much fun standing in a corner all night rocking out to covers of Strange Brew. I didn’t go to college with a degree in mind and never belonged to a sorority. I was never one of the cool kids. Because I was fat and wore glasses some kids thought I was smart. They often friended me to tap that knowledge. And that’s the only tapping that went on back then.

102216-writing-is-running

I did read Romance novels to provide the missing romance in my life. So I wonder if I am reading the YA/NA books that are out these days. There is every possibility that I am doing so. Just like I read the shapeshifter books to add magic and wild sex ideas to my life.

102216-the-deal

I read the four Off Campus books by Elle Kennedy almost back to back. I loved every one of them, even though Tucker took me longer. Is it bad that I wanted him to be gay? I’m going to stalk Ms. Kennedy on Facebook because I’m seriously fangirling over her. The writing is top notch, the humor never stops, and the outcomes are never guaranteed. I couldn’t see how Logan’s happily ever after was possible. The guys are all hot hockey players and the girls are all smart, talented, kick-ass women who take a lot of convincing from the guys who love them.

102216-world-around-you

And now I want to read everything she’s ever written. There are more books about the adult versions of the Off Campus crew. I can hardly wait.

102216-uglies

This was not my first venture into YA/NA story land. About a year ago I read Uglies by Scott Westerfield. This is a near-future sci-fi or speculative fiction book about a society where at a certain age, everyone undergoes surgery so they all look perfect. The idea is to equalize everyone and make life less stressful. Less competitive and aggressive.

102216-to-write-her-books

The whole book was exciting, interesting, and parts had me on the edge of my seat. Would I have liked to be one of the Pretties who was made to look amazing as a teenager? Not just yes, but hell yes! Even knowing the secret behind the surgeries. In that society, it didn’t seem to matter.

There is a sequel called Pretties that I am anxious to get a hold of. In fact, it’s a trilogy plus one. And there are talks about movies and TV series. Better read these soon before the visual media ruins it for us. http://scottwesterfeld.com/books/uglies/

102216-jumper

Jumper by Steven Gould is an awesome book that I didn’t know had been made into a movie. A young teen discovers that when threatened physically, he can teleport without really thinking about it to another, safer location. I love that he goes to a library most often. And the conspiracy theories are pure gold. It’s the first of a trilogy, going on my list right now of must have books.

Lots of YA romances are being turned into movies: The ground-breaking Twilight series, Divergent, The Hunger Games, The Fault in Our Stars, The Princess Diaries, etc. I am not the only adult who longs to capture some better memories about our teen years. I can’t imagine why anyone would say no to a great story just because the Main Characters are in college. Or high school.

102216-made-me-feel

Keep yourself open to great adventure and story telling, and your world will become the fun place you always knew it could be. I’d love to hear in the comments which YA/NA books you like best.

Save

Leave a Reply

