A Team Sport

No, I’m not talking about the Olympics. I’m talking about collaborative writing.

I honestly never thought I’d write collaboratively. With anyone. Ever. But… in the last few months, I have been. Quiet effectively, actually. Misty Carlisle, one of my best buddies, and I have been on a tear with it.

It started with an idea with a couple crossover stories we’re working on. She was borrowing a couple of my characters, but our timelines overlapped, and I still needed them. We found hashing out a timeline was rather fun. We even have a scene that will take place in both of our stories. We opened up a Google Doc and starting putting in the dialog, I as my character, she as hers. And wouldn’t you know? The dialog is confusing — just as it’s meant to be, and it’s going to be fantastic when we get our stories done.

But then we discovered we weren’t done yet. In the online writer’s community we both belong to, we participated in a team challenge, just to see how well we worked together. We mapped out a basic timeline, got through it, and couldn’t quite figure out why it wasn’t quite working at the end. We discovered a missing character. So we worked her into the story line a bit, and we were able to finish the story.

It was far easier than I could have possibly imagined. We put it up for critique, and readers were unable to tell where her writing ended and mine began. I’d call that a success.

While we were at it, we were talking about twisting tropes around. And boy, oh, boy, did we do that. We found a story line where tropes would fall by the wayside. We’ve started mapping that out – it’s going to be a full length novel.

In truth, I lucked out. In fact, I couldn’t be luckier. My writing style meshes really well with Misty’s.

Oh, and did I mention the bit we’re working on right now? That should be fun as well. Which reminds me – it’s my turn, so I should probably get to it.

***

Milli Gilbert is a stay-at-home mom who loves to play with words almost as much as she loves to play with her kids. All of her stories involve romance, and maybe a little bit of mystery. Milli loves to write about cowboys and shifters. And smut. Don’t forget the smut. And can usually be found trying to find interesting ways to combine them. She has several short stories published, and hopes to have her first full length novel out in late Summer 2017. She just took off after one of her couples to follow them around for a few months – but don’t worry, she’ll be back. If not, you can find her on  FacebookGoogle+, and Pinterest, or follow her on Twitter.

And of course, on her blog, Hairballs of Genius. She is also a regular contributor right here  on Happy Author’s Guild.

For a complete list of publications, please see her Publications page, or her Amazon Author Page.

One thought on “A Team Sport

Leave a Reply

