Let’s Start At The Beginning by Emma Marie Leigh

You’ll have to forgive me. I’ve been suffering from a case of writer’s block so thick, I’ve been stumbling over what my post would be about all week. I have this awesome idea about tropes that I love, but it’ll have to be your dose on my next segment.

Part of my writer’s block is simply effort. Yes, I’m in school full-time, in clinicals, and working full time. But we all know that carving out time for our writing is doable. whether it’s just scribbling ideas on a napkin, making outlines, or doing research. That’s what my mother tells me, anyway. Just do something that contributes to your writing. Then again, in the past when I’ve found myself stuck in a project, I’ve put it aside and worked on something else. 5e106a72aa4b521aca4a9dc2be63c045

Considering this led me to realize that maybe I’ve been doing the wrong thing for me. Sure, starting something new is find if you manage to make it back to the original. But since I haven’t even looked at my projects in about five months, I’m thinking a writing hiatus isn’t the worst thing in the world. As writers, we get shamed for it. The one thing you’re never supposed to do is let your book collect dust in the closet.

But guess what happened when I got one of my projects back out of the closet? It was like a brand new story. It’s like being reacquainted with an old friend. Only the conversation is totally in my head. I have new directions for my characters, I have ideas. Instead of where I was bogged down five months ago with all the things that were wrong with my story, I feel back in sync with it. I’ll get back to you when I actually complete the story to let you know if my hiatus worked.

time-management

Back to my first instinct of just starting a new project. I realized I’m excellent at beginnings. I can begin a story like nobody’s business. Opening lines, opening paragraphs, I feel like I’ve mastered that “hook”. And it’s arguable that the beginning is the hardest  part. It’s the make or break of whether people continue your story. It’s your foundation.

I have a lot of beginnings.

I don’t have many endings.

I don’t know if it’s an internal fear of actually finishing. Maybe it’s my personality. I’m really good at starting things in my life too. I started cleaning the kitchen. I started doing the laundry. I started my homework.

I’m thinking my new approach is going to be beginning every chapter like it’s a story of its own. Every scene deserves a beginning, middle, and ending. Maybe it’s about lacing hundreds of mini stories about my characters together. Worst case, if I don’t finish a scene, I’m still starting a new one. Like my mother says, as long as you’re moving forward.

 

 

****

Emma is an aspiring author writing about everything from fairytales to serial killers. She loves writing stories that explore human nature in a darkly humorous light. When she isn’t writing, she loves spending time with her family and studying history. Otherwise, you can find her beaching, watching movies, and plotting. Plotting books, not murders.

Well, sometimes murders.

Connect with her: blogemailfacebooktwitter.

 

One thought on “Let’s Start At The Beginning by Emma Marie Leigh

  1. Pingback: Scenes: Mini Stories? by Emma Marie Leigh | Happy Authors Guild

Leave a Reply

