Looking for Time by Kate DeHart

For the past few weeks, I’ve been thinking about all the topics I might write about in my upcoming blog spot. I thought about blogging about a couple of the books I recently read. One of them was Hooked, by Les Egderton(which was excellent, by the way) and his take on story beginnings. Then I considered discussing the book Story Engineering, by Larry Brooks and his ideas about the structure of a novel. All of that fell apart though, when after an already stressful couple of weeks, I heard about the tragedy in Florida on Sunday. Then, to top it off, I got some scary personal news about a close family member which is weighing heavy on my heart.

061516 i dont know

I haven’t been able to break down these other topics in the way I intended, so instead I’m going to talk about time, writing, and following dreams. I hope to come back to these books in a blog post in the future.

Please forgive me, because I’m about to reference a podcast I listened to late at night a few nights ago, and despite searching all my corners, I can’t find it again to link. If anyone happens to have watched the podcast with the older gentleman with the kind voice that happens to be an author and psychologist, please comment below and I’ll include a link. <smacks hand, bad writer>

061516murderer

The podcast was about overcoming fear and insecurity in writing. And fascinatingly to me, the discussion went in the direction of how our childhoods affect our fears. Now, this is fascinating firstly because I’m a mother, but also because I’ve always felt very in tune with how our words and actions can make children feel, and in the process help them develop their self esteem, emotional growth, and confidence.

As this very intelligent man pointed out in his interview, things adults say to children, the confidence and encouragement they surround them with, can help shape them and their sense of self for years to come. There’s a lot of power in our words, especially to humans that are still learning themselves and the world.

061516 time is free

At some point while listening, it hit me how I’d let the words of others affect me. I’d wasted many years wanting to be a writer, while letting fear and unconfidence get in the way of chasing my dreams. For me, this went back to my teens, and probably even before. I’m hardly a new hatchling, and well over the thirty mark. I’d let discouragement create fear and squash my aspirations for a good part of an adult life, and more importantly, allowed those things to get in the way of something that brings me an incredible creative outlet.

The last few days, I’ve been spending time looking through photos emerging of the shooting victims, imagining their struggles, their triumphs, their hopes, and of course their dreams. The preciousness of life hit me all the harder. We can’t hold back for fear of judgment. This is an area many struggle with, and one I definitely struggle with.

061516 just be

At any moment, life could change. Whether we’re amazing writers, or mediocre writers, novelist, poets, or screenwriters. If we’re holding back, we’re wasting time. Everyone I know is looking for more time in life, not less. Maybe, I have more time than I’ve been realizing to spend time doing the things that bring me joy. Including, my long-time love of writing.

 

Born a daydreamer, Kate DeHart continued the hobby that often got her in trouble into adulthood, only now she calls it writing. When she’s not engaged in imaginary worlds, she spends her time with her husband and two children in California, exploring life and searching for joy. She also loves photography, reading, knitting, travel, and other random creative things. Oh, and now she designs covers, too!

Save

Leave a Reply

