Oh, hello there. by Kate Whitaker

ogkbj

It’s been awhile since I posted over here.

 

tumblr_m3ddxrmlKM1qfw2dno1_400

Four months!

Moving across the country will do that.

 

cows

So. Many. Cows.

And now I have to get back into the writing groove. But it’s a different groove. I’m scaling back. One newsletter a month, instead of two. Two blogs a week, instead of five or six. And no publishing. Although, I’m keeping the comic-a-week groove.

doctor who gif.gif

I have four collections that I can push now. I’d rather spend my time marketing and working on my novels. It feels more productive.

Plus, I really want to get back into novel writing. I’ve never really been able to put it aside. My shorts and novellas always fed into bigger stories. So, why fight what I obviously want to do?

excited

But oh man, has it been rough. Short fiction is an art form, and I had to really speed up plots and how I wrote. Now I have to slow it all down again. And it’s hard to shake that mentality.

yuck.gif

And boy, is feedback faster when your entire story is 5000 words. Put a 90,000 word doorstopper in a beta’s inbox… and the waiting…

 

 

game-of-thrones-tyrion-pour-wine

So glad I can buy wine at the grocery stores here. I hate waiting

And to finish off the weird, I’m barely writing. Maybe a few hundred words a day. But I am running scenes in my head. Which means I’m talking to myself a lot.

 

insane.gif

My husband has been worried about me.

All in all, it’s been awkward and unsettling patch in my journey as a writer. But at the same time, it’s the beginning of where I want to be, working with characters I dearly love. And that is very exciting.

i love it

***

Kate Whitaker writes for fun and profit from the woods of the Olympic Penninsula. You can most likely find her sitting at her kitchen table yelling at kids as she tries to figure out a new way to kill made up monsters. She has a newsletter and a comic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

