Getting Organized By Kathryn L. James

Getting organized.

cbl-1st-revision.jpg

Writing my second novel has proved to be just as hard as writing my first. It’s been five months since publishing and I wrote it entirely panster style. This go around, I’m learning the art of organization and creating story board plotting. Hanging out in writer circles, I found a few of my writing friends use story boards to get their plot, characters, and development off and running.

Since I have a day job, I write every chance I get…which basically means I write slow. Starting last month, I vowed to hype up my organization skills! Each week I set a word count goal on Sunday. The amount of words is based on my schedule for the week, but ends on the following Saturday at the stroke of midnight.

organized desk

Learning to create a plot board has been a little challenging, but it all started with friends and research on Pinterest! (and now I have an addiction to post notes, LOL) I’m finding the colorful pieces of paper arranged on each block of the board helps with the flow, keeps the storyline in order, making the job of writing easier. Oh, and I didn’t purchase a board, I used freezer paper and it works well! If you haven’t tried creating a story board, I suggest going to Pinterest where all kinds of ideas are at your fingertips!

outline  NOVEL

Next I’ve become better at managing my time with social media. When I’m writing, it’s all about writing. Because I live life in the fast lane with family, job, and having a little fun, I’ve had to become disciplined with time management.

Happy writing everyone…Until next time,

Kathryn L. James (KJ)

Kathryn L. James lives in a southern small town with her husband and kids. Being a hopeless romantic, she loves to read and write about bad-boy sexy alpha males and a strong heroine. When writing, she weaves her characters along one hell of a roller coaster ride full of angst before they reach their HEA. The beach is one of her favorite places to relax and write. But most days, when she’s writing, you can find her snuggled under a blanket in a recliner with her curly apricot poodle curled up beside her. She’s loves diet coke and proclaims it helped her stay awake pecking away on her laptop writing the debut of her first novel, Crazy Beautiful Lies. (Actually, it’s finished and you can buy it!)

https://www.amazon.com/Crazy-Beautiful-Lies-Kathryn-James-ebook/dp/B018UDXZ5U

https://www.facebook.com/kathrynjames.author

https://twitter.com/Kjames_Author

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14631847.Kathryn_L_James

https://kathrynljames.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

