Why? Or Channeling Your Inner 4 Year Old

Why do I write? Because I have all these stories in my head that want to be shared with the world.

Why? Because every time I read a book or see a movie, I think of a different way that could have gone. And I can’t rest until I make it go that way.

Why? My inner flame to create won’t let me sleep or eat – Okay, that’s not so very true or I wouldn’t have this weight to lose, huh? But still, my characters talk to me and push me toward the keyboard. I have left one couple in a tree for a few weeks while I wrote something else. Boy, were they pissed!

042716 couple in tree

Why? I think it’s because they had a lot of moving to do, escaping from the French troops and discovering their mutual attraction. They have needs.

Why? Well, our hero ran off to join the war effort in spite of his father’s objections, then saw enough death and destruction and despair to clarify that things are not all glory on the front. Now he wants to go home, but he met this girl and he loves her.

Why? Because she was born a princess, but Napoleon and his sort have killed her parents, a British soldier raped her, and our hero is her only hope for a normal life. As long as he lets her tie him up during sex.

042716 how it might have been

Why? Hey, there’s nothing wrong with a little bondage during sex, okay? She just needs to feel that she’s in control and he’s willing to give her that. She might actually love him in return.

Why? Somehow, I knew you were going to ask that. Because research has shown that people who are hungry find more body shapes attractive. And people often mistake fear for sexual attraction. Don’t ask me why. Go read the article. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2650537/Want-date-attractive-Take-horror-movie-make-sure-theyre-hungry.html

042716 all tied up

Several times over the last few months, I’ve been asked why I write, and why my characters do what they do. Knowing your why is very important, so very key to getting the intensity of your story conveyed correctly. If you don’t know the why, you can bet your readers won’t know, either. That often leads to throwing the book across the room.

While it can be annoying to run this Inner 4 Year Old question pattern in your head for every story, remember it has a purpose and it works. Why? I’ll get back to you. Meanwhile watch this really awesome clip of Louise C.K. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u2ZsoYWwJA

Born and raised in Southern California, DL Hungerford began writing right about the time you would expect.  She honed her skills through fanzines, epic letters, and minutes for various clubs.  She also wrote newsletter submissions for clubs, as well as movie and book reviews.
She loves the world of fiction, especially Regency England, but hopes to explore other horizons as time permits.  She still lives in Southern California with her husband, a spoiled cat, a spoiled dog, and a flock of parrots and other birds.

She also writes under the pen name of Roxana Haley. You can contact her through any of the various links below:

http://windroseaviaries.wordpress.com/

http://windr0se.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/HungerfordsHistoricals/

https://www.facebook.com/RoxannaHaleyAuthor/?fref=ts

https://wtfsparkyville.com/

Leave a Reply

