The Finish Line by Emily Cooper

2015 has been a busy year for me. Maybe the busiest, most stressful year of my life. Because of that, writing originally got thrown on the back burner. I know, I know. You have to make time. If you’re really dedicated you’ll steal moments all day to dedicate to your writing. And that makes total sense. But most of the time my brain felt fried and the thought of having to focus on anything other than school and work made me just crawl into the bathtub.

I believe that is a condition of novice writers. Looking back now, I know fear had more to do with my lack of productivity than anything. I’d never really finished anything but super short stories before. And maybe my subconscious kept it that way because if I never finish a novel, then no one ever has to read it.

There is only one way to get over that shit. It started when my beautiful, and published, friend Taylor Sullivan invited me to be part of an anthology with her and 11 other astounding women. Turns out it is the best thing to ever happen to me in a lot of ways:

The Story of a Kiss anthology will be released Feb 1st, but the cover reveal is less than two weeks away. When Taylor invited me, it meant not only that I had real deadlines, no longer self imposed deadlines. But it also meant I was accountable to 12 other women. Women that I respect and admire to boot. And like a switch had been flipped, instead of avoiding writing, I was always thinking about it. Writing ideas on post-it notes and researching.

I learned that for me, I don’t have to write every day. I don’t have to force myself. But if I promise myself to at least think about my story everyday. To plot, outline, or research. Something that contributes to the story, then usually I end up writing.

The second most motivating thing has been my Novella Cover. Because I’ve never finished anything before, I never even thought about a cover. Mistake. It’s my new first step. Because every time I was stuck on a scene or just plain didn’t feel like writing, I looked at this:

Book Cover

This is a story I never would have even thought of without being a part of this anthology. And I honestly couldn’t imagine my life without it now. But as a novice, seeing my pen name up there, seeing my novella in actuality, inspires me every time. I’ll make my cover for each novel or novella I sit down to write from here on out because it’s like the light at the end of the tunnel.

I’m working on the cover for the sequel now, because I just can’t put this story away, even though it could stand on it’s own. I just enjoy my characters too much, and they just have so much more to tell.

I would show you the cover to SOAK, but that’s January 5th. So, you can mark your calendar =)

While I sit here, so close to crossing the finish line of being published, all that fear I’ve carried around secretly, even from myself, is dying before my eyes. Don’t get me wrong, I’m scared, but in good ways. I’m more scared my holiness aunt will read my story about a Pompeiian prostitute and the family reunion will be super awkward.

But I’m not scared of myself anymore. I’m not afraid to jump in.

***

Emily  is an aspiring author writing about everything from fairytales to serial killers. She loves writing stories that explore human nature in a darkly humorous light. And she’s thrilled to share her first novella when it comes out Feb 1st.

When Emily isn’t writing, she loves spending time with her family and friends, and studying history. Otherwise she’s reading, beaching, watching movies, and plotting. Plotting books, not murders.

Well, sometimes murders.

She would love to hear from you:

Blog: Booksonblondes.wordpress.com 

Email: EmmaMarieLeigh.Author@gmail.com

Twitter: twitter.com/@AuthorEMLeigh

One thought on “The Finish Line by Emily Cooper

Leave a Reply

