I always love the new book best, by May Burnett

Today is a joyful date for me, as it marks the publication of my 11th historical romance since the first one appeared in June 2014.  A Priceless Gift is set in 1811/12, the time when Napoleon was preparing his ill-fated attack on Russia. My hero is a diplomat as well as a nobleman, and spends the middle part of the book on a confidential mission to the Czar’s court in St. Petersburg, while Amanda, his young and pregnant wife, stays at his principal seat in Hampshire. To celebrate this event I’ll indulge in a short author interview with my writing self.
Can one write so many books so quickly without sacrificing quality?
Yes and no. I would not have published any book if I were not happy with it, but I am coming to appreciate the editing and proofreading stages more than I did when I set out. I plan to re-edit some of my earlier works as I go along, to make sure that the Createspace versions I shall put out over the next few months are as perfect as I can manage. And I may insert a couple of additional scenes into one of my earlier works, to give greater stress to the love story.
Do you ever run out of ideas for new plots? After all the Regency category has a fairly rigid formula.
No, there is not the slightest danger of running out of ideas. If all else fails, I like to transpose present-day problems to the past, where the resolution would be rather different. Each of my books so far is quite different from the previous ones. The new one, for instance, has gothic elements (revenge, poison, superstition) not to be found in my previous works.
You like to use young lovers in every book. Don’t they tend to become similar types?
Not so far. I have a fairly clear idea of my characters’ background and priorities, their interests and values by the time I begin to write a book. Each of them is their own man (or woman). My most recent book is also different because the hero is rather older than in my previous books, in his late thirties.
You use alternating, close third POV. Do you prefer to write from the male or female POV?
The male one is marginally more fun because men had more liberty and possibilities in the period where I set my novels. I like to use interior monologues and self-deception, rationalisations, useless determination, and so on, for both men and women. This may add distance on occasion but in a Regency you don’t necessarily need one-hundred-percent identification with any one character.
What are your weak points?
I prefer to regard them as areas where I can still improve. I must strive to add more atmospheric description to my scenes. Since I tend to focus most on my character’s thoughts and dialogue, description is sometimes neglected. Also, I don’t always make as much out of their pain and anguish as I should, perhaps because I feel pity for their sufferings. And I need to work on action scenes, which don’t come so naturally to me.
What comes next, after this book? Is it part of a series?
No, A Priceless Gift is a standalone, though I am toying with the idea of writing a sequel about the heroine’s younger sister Eve. I already have a suitable cover and title, so all that is needed is to write her story… but that will have to wait. My next project is part of my longest ongoing series, the Amberley Chronicles. It is two-thirds written at this point, about an heiress fleeing from mysterious attacks with a young officer that she’ll be forced to marry later in the book to safeguard her reputation. By the end, of course, both will be reconciled to their situation.
After that comes the third and final volume of my Winthrop Trilogy. The heroine’s character and backstory are a special challenge, and I am still trying to think of a good title.

How profitable are these Regencies?

In the current year they have netted me between 1000 and 3000 dollars per month. I am planning to experiment with various marketing strategies, starting with the addition of Createspace versions. But the most important thing is to keep writing and publishing new books on a fairly quick schedule.

Anything else you would like to add?

The first volume of the Winthrop Trilogy, Lady Susan’s Bargain, will be free from August 1 to 5th  2015. Anyone reading this, I would appreciate if you downloaded a free copy! And for suscribers of Kindle Unlimited, all my historical novels are enrolled, so you can sample them at your leisure. Enjoy! 9 A Priceless Gift 3D large

One thought on “I always love the new book best, by May Burnett

Leave a Reply

