Get to Know E.D. Vaughn

Through Scribophile, I not only found a way to procrastinate and not write, I also found a lot of wonderful writer friends who are supportive and creative. They make inspiration happen. I may have to start another blog and showcase each of them to give you an idea of how wonderful a community these writers are. E.D. Vaughn was scheduled to blog today, but I thought I would tell you about her talents instead. Here’s her author’s bio:

ED has been writing and talking to imaginary friends since infancy. Once she discovered pencils and paper, a whole new world opened up. Unfortunately, the stick figures weren’t indicative of great artistic talent, and she switched to writing. Now, if not on the computer wearing her fingers to nubs typing a new story, she’s out hiking, jogging, taking photographs, or lazing around with her teenager watching movies. And she’s never without her faithful hobbit (a.k.a. Humphrey the Corgi), who has followed her everywhere, even to Alaska.

When I first met Ms. Vaughn through Scribophile, she was living in Alaska. Much as she loved the Great Cold North, she was looking forward to a move to the lower 48 states in a few months. She caught my attention as a reader because she writes really wonderful paranormal romances, shape-shifters who out Alpha everyone.

Featured image

Her first work that I had the pleasure of reading dealt with a prompt about two people meeting while snowbound somewhere. Her werewolf managed a ski resort with cabins, a lift, and a bar in the main lodge. He recognized his mate and true love from her scent long before he saw her. She turned out to be a plus-size woman with body issues who had broken her ankle and needed help to get around. Their interaction was yummy.

Ms. Vaughn survived her move south, but some things in her personal life did not. She’s been through the roughest time any of us can imagine, but she keeps writing. In the Bowman’s Inn anthologies for Spring and Summer, she has short stories that are unique and moving, with lots of good sex happening naturally between the characters.

Featured image

For Spring, she wrote Wish Upon a Dream, a shape-shifter romance with more than a little mystery going on. Here’s the first meeting of her Main Characters:

“Hi.” The deep voice sent a shiver up my spine as my back went ramrod straight.
I looked up, but any smart ass reply froze on my tongue. I’d found my snarky side in the last few months, but it eluded me when I needed it most. The tight, faded-blue t-shirt took center stage, along with the nice muscles it hugged.
Lucky shirt!
When I finally forced my eyes higher, my face heated.
Busted.
His spiky blond hair set off the smirk on the stranger’s amused face.
Brain, you can start working again!
“Uh, are you lost?”
“No. I’ve been trying to talk to you in class for the last month, but you always run out too quickly. Imagine my surprise at finding you here.” His head tilted as though he was trying to x-ray my mind.
I chuckled. “I haven’t been to school in years. You must be confusing me with someone else.”
Too bad, he’s hot. And young. And hot.
His laugh was the best song I’d ever heard. “You’re funny, Regina. I’m one of the CrossFit trainers.” He paused as though I should recognize him. “I’ve been working up the nerve to talk to you.” He pointed at my mostly finished drink. “If I’d known you like that stuff, I would have stalked you here earlier.”

Wow, that gets my blood heated! For Summer, she went in a different direction, and had me in tears with Trouble Makers:

Tegan took the offending buzzing and swipped his finger across the screan. “And why do you keep calling this number?” The look on his face made me wonder what Adam-the-asshole said in reply.
“Oh, I can assure you my girl doesn’t want you calling anymore.”
His girl! Swoon!
“Then go date her mother.”
I laughed and covered my mouth to tone down the noise. I thanked the lady behind the counter for my coffee and muffin, and then dragged Tegan out of the café. He didn’t seem to mind having this conversation out in public but I did. Once comfortably leaning against my Beemer I listened to the one sided conversation and nibbled on the muffin.
This is better than TV!
“No, you’re talking to me now.” His fierce, determined look only added to his appeal.
“As I said, my girl doesn’t want to talk to you or she would have answered your last call. Or any of them.”
I think I just fell in love with this guy.

Featured image
On Scribophile, this funny and creative lady states that she loves:
*A comfortable pair of jeans
*Curling up on the couch with a good book
*The open road in front of me when my iPod is recharged
*A good hug

And her favorite quote is “Smile, it makes people wonder what you’re up too :)”
You can purchase The Bowman’s Inn anthologies on Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/Spring-Bowmans-Inn-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00WBZSN0G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430323114&sr=8-1&keywords=the+bowman%27s+inn
http://www.amazon.com/Summer-The-Bowmans-Inn-Book-ebook/dp/B011P63JUK/ref=pd_sim_sbs_351_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1JQP9XF77QASYQ8FF0Z5

Leave a Reply

