I’m late! I’m late! For a very important blog post date… by Emily Cooper

It’s funny. I have an entire word document dedicated to topics for this blog. It’s very special to me, and I’m so thankful to be a part of it and the wonderful group of writers involved. I am generally a planner, not a pantser, even when it comes to blogging.

However, in the last month I’ve moved states, changed careers, and started school. Then, this week, just when I thought I was getting everything in order and could even work in some writing time on my awesome new story I’m planning, guess what?

I start getting sick. Just a cold, take some nyquil, I think. Well, it gets worse. I just moved, so I don’t have a doctor. Thank God my new health insurance is in effect, so doc in a box I go. Walking pneumonia. Yep. That’s right.

And it’s no joke, dude. I could not even focus. I’m not even sure how I drove to the doctor or did anything before they jacked me with steroids. Today was the first time in a week I didn’t get dizzy just walking around.

Now, don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a pity post. I guess it’s another one of those when-life-interrupts-your-writing posts. All the best laid plans. I had made a new schedule with specific writing times and places, to get in my groove. I had done a load of research for my new story. I was so pumped.

But I think I’ve also been overwhelmed, and this illness has given me a chance to reflect/hallucinate. To remember what is important, to remember that it’s not the end of the world if my blog is late, if my story doesn’t get started this week, if I miss a week of work at my brand new job. If I don’t do any fancy meme’s or pictures or any of the things I know makes a post better than reading some rando’s rambling.

I’m one of those people who puts so much pressure on myself. I hate disappointing anyone. I fret. I know I’m not alone. But I think that if we fret too much, if we put too much pressure on ourselves, things we love, like writing, lose their charm. I have to take the time to breathe. I don’t have to have everything planned, cause shit doesn’t like to go according to my plan anyway.

And on a side note, my fever gave me a wicked idea for my story in the middle of the night.

And also, I somehow managed to become a slightly more published author with a few shorts =)

****

Emily is a wannabe author, privileged to know some of the best authors ever! Please check out her short stories and connect with her! One day she’ll have a fancy mailing list and all that jazz. ❤

Oh and…images (15)

One thought on “I’m late! I’m late! For a very important blog post date… by Emily Cooper

Leave a Reply

